Jobless In China

18 Feb

The difficulty started when I found myself visa-less and jobless in China wondering what my next move should be.

Being Let Go

August 19th: I’ve been working for a Montessori preschool for about a month. The staff is great, the kids like me and I enjoy the job. The school claims they will have no trouble procuring my work visa and life was good.

August 20th: I am let go.

The school had realized they were not legally allowed to hire a foreign English teacher. The news, delivered a week before my visa expired, hit me like a ton of bricks. Shaken up, Ami and I headed off to Hong Kong for temporary visas.

Hong Kong Vacation-018

Visiting Big Buddha in Hong Kong

The Long Job Hunt

While the trip to Hong Kong was amazing, our return to Shanghai was followed by an excruciating job hunt. One month passed without success. Money was getting tight. I was going to dozens of interviews but nothing felt right.

Thankfully, after two long months following every lead, I stumbled upon The Child Academy, and it was a good fit.

The Child Academy is an international preschool run by two Canadian guys. As school nurse and float teacher I combine my love for health care and children.

I create emergency protocols, teach health classes, cover for sick teachers, and help with the occasional bloody nose. The kids are aged one to six years old and definitely make the job worthwhile!

Zài jiàn,

Cecily

PS. We’re enjoying our first Chinese New Years in China. Look out for my next post coming later this week—I’ll show you how I rung in the New Year— at school and at home!

8 Responses to “Jobless In China”

  1. Angie Sanyal February 18, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Nimen hao Cecily and Ami, Ni hao ma? I hope you rung up the new year with a bang!!!! Love and miss you both.

  2. Nat Nanton February 18, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    So glad everything worked out. It always does, doesn’t it? 🙂

  3. morgansherrah February 19, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    Jobs are getting tuff in China, unless your teaching. Every tried a Uni? Salaries not so great, but lots holidays and they are allowed to hire foreign teachers legally.

    • Cecily Sanyal February 21, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

      @morgansherrah: Yes, getting a job in China has become a lot harder since I got here. Since May they have tightened up the requirements for english teachers. I haven’t tried a Uni yet–but I prefer working with little kids 🙂 They are awesome!

  4. Craig February 22, 2013 at 5:09 am #

    I almost got burned too but they called on their high-ups to find a fix and they did…..a month after my visa expired. Wow, that was stressful! Anyway, I’m glad to hear it is going well for you at your new job. Take care!

    • Cecily Sanyal February 22, 2013 at 5:45 am #

      Really? Wow…I can’t say I’m completely surprised as they’re not the most reliable company. I’m glad it worked out for you! When you have a free weekend let me know–Ami and I would love to meet up with you and your wife 🙂 Let me know!

Leave a Reply

